Aceey’s Hair Regimen

Standard

Remember Jesse from "Full House?" Yep, that's me!

I love my hair! The best part about healthy hair is that even if you cut it, it grows right back to the same lushness and length as before.

My hair has been featured on many hair care websites over the years and I get weave-checked on a daily, even with short hair! I didn’t always have healthy hair, though. It took me 14 months to go from damaged, chin length hair, to gorgeous hair that almost touched my waist. I keep my hair short now (armpit length) but it’s still healthy as ever! This is only a regimen page, looks like a mouthful but it really isn’t, I promise 😀 — I will post hair care tips in another blog post.

Having damaged, short hair was no fun.

My hair regimen, 1x a week:
1. Part hair in 6 sections.

2. Apply pre-shampoo treatment to each section and let sit for an hour before rinsing – I do a pre-treatment because shampoos can be so harsh, plus it provides extra conditioning.
Favorite pre-shampoo treatments:

  • Mayonnaise (you know, the stuff in a jar? Any non-salad dressing brand will do). I apply as if I am applying a relaxer. I consider this my protein treatment.
  • Oil (Grapeseed, Olive, Coconut, Dabur Vatika Coconut Hair Oil)
  • Silk Dreams PRE

3. Apply shampoo to sectioned hair, let sit for a few minutes, then rinse. Repeat if necessary.
Favorite shampoos:

4. Apply deep conditioner to each section of hair. Leave on for 10-20 minutes, then rinse.
Favorite deep conditioners:

4. Apply leave-in conditioner before roller setting. After my hair dries on the rollers, I flat iron the new growth only. I rarely apply direct heat to my ends (maybe 4 times a year, TOPS!).
Favorite leave-ins:

Daily Moisturizing/Sealing:

*Relaxing – Every three months
Linenage Shea Butter Relaxer (this is the only brand of relaxer that straightens my hair).

*Coloring – Every three months with Henna then Indigo powders. I do not use artificial dyes.
Favorite Brands:

  • Nupur
  • Karishma
  • Indigo from Ayurnatural Beauty
  • Jamila
  • Mumtaz

Aww, I miss having long hair.

One thought on “Aceey’s Hair Regimen

Leave a Reply

