Ode to McKenzie’s Bakery and My Tribute: Aceey’s Big Stuff Turtles!

Standard

McKenzie's Bakery Sign

When I was younger, I lived four blocks away from one of the best bakeries in the world, McKenzie’s! I miss them so much—often imitated but never duplicated! They were all over the New Orleans area and they had the best desserts!


Above is a clip of a documentary which featured McKenzie’s Bakery! Delish!

 They had everything… and more!

fresh donuts – my favorite was the Bavarian crème filled donuts with powdered sugar on top.

mini pineapple upside down cakes.

buttermilk drops – fried round donuts made with buttermilk and glazed with sugar syrup.

wine/rum cakes with rum syrup, whipped cream, and a cherry on top! Yum!

-One McKenzie’s bakery sold chicken… in a box! YES!

Chicken in a Box in the 7th Ward

Chicken in a Box off Foy Street - New Orleans

blackout cake – chocolate cake with frosting made with chocolate pudding, covered in chocolate cake crumbs.

-and my favorite… Mckenzie’s Turtles!

Thinking of McKenzie’s brings back so many fond memories, with my favorite being spending quality time with my mother. When I was a little girl, she would take me to McKenzie’s and buy a mini wine cake, beautifully decorated and enclosed in a sugary, rum syrup in a white gift box. We would then walk a couple of blocks down to the Mississippi river, sit on the grass and indulge. She didn’t know that she made me feel so rich! I’m salivating at the thought of all that butter I had as a kid!

Emeril's tribute to McKenzie's Turtles

Emeril's tribute to McKenzie's Turtles

Turtles were little shortbread cookies with ground pecans baked in, with a dollop of chocolate frosting in the shape of a Hershey’s Kiss. They look a little like turtles, especially if pastry chefs put three pecan halves at the bottom of each shortbread cookie before baking (two pecans halves for the “feet” and one pecan half for the “head.”) As a kid, being greedy, I would buy four turtles, being able to eat only two at a time because of the extreme amount of butter in the treats.  Eating them was a ritualistic science: I first licked all the chocolate off, then threw the whole cookie in, melting it in my mouth (IT WAS THAT SERIOUS!). Needless to say, I was never the smallest kid in school due to my daily addiction to McKenzie’s bakery (I was 4’11” and 185 lbs thanks to my daily fix of McKenzie’s).

A ton of variations of the Turtle cookie has been presented both online and in many bakeries all over the world. And I made my own… which I have amorously named the “Bruce Banner Turtles!”

Aceey's Big Stuff Turtle Cookies

Aceey's Ode to McKenzie's, "Big Stuff Turtle Cookies"

Why did I name them “Bruce Banner Turtles?”

-The cookies are HUGE! Each one is the size of the palm of my hand. Usually turtles are about 1 ½ inches in diameter butI got tired of carrying so many around, I decided to make them larger than life.

-Bruce Banner’s alter ego is green. Sea turtles are green, lol! And I am corny. 🙂

“The Incredible Hulk Turtles” sound silly… yeah, I know “Bruce Banner Turtles” sound silly, too. Ok Ok, I’ll call them “Aceey’s Big Stuff Turtles” then, hahahha! 😀

Did I mention that my cookies were gluten free and organic? You know me, I love mixing the healthy with the sweet!

How did I do it? Sorry pookies, I didn’t measure for this recipe but here is a list of the ingredients:

Shortbread:

  • all purpose flour
  • a ton of butter
  • vanilla extract
  • pinch salt
  • ton of sugar
  • ground pecans

Frosting:

  • cocoa powder
  • vanilla extract
  • tapioca starch
  • a ton of powdered sugar
  • milk
  • Extra pecans for garnish

I formed the dough into large cookies and baked. Then I used a plastic sandwich bag as a piping bag to make the dollops on each cookie. I wanted to add my own fattening, personal touch to the cookie so I added pecan halves on the top instead of the bottom of each cookie.

These cookies were so good that I made a vow to never ever make them in the house again due to the fear of eating them all… no self control! lol

If you are fromNew Orleans, I wonder what was your favorite McKenzie’s moment. I’ve got too many to count. Take care! 🙂

Aceey's Big Stuff Turtle Cookies

P.S.: Still need help with this blog.

One thought on “Ode to McKenzie’s Bakery and My Tribute: Aceey’s Big Stuff Turtles!

Leave a Reply

